Saturday, March 26, 2016

Garvin Named NABC District 15 Coach of the Year, Eaves Selected To All-District Team

KANSAS CITY, Missouri  South Carolina State head men's basketball coach Murray Garvin was named the 2016 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) District 15 Coach of the Year, while junior guard Eric Eaves was selected to the Division I All-District Second team, announced by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).
All award winners were selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, which highlights and represent the finest basketball players and coaches across America.
"It's an honor to be selected by the NABC as District 15 Coach of the Year. When I look at the list of coaches that represent their particular district and who have earned this award, I am truly appreciative to be recognized along with them," said Garvin. "I am also proud of E.J. Eaves for being selected Second Team All- District.  As we all know with success comes recognition and we accept these honors on behalf of our entire basketball team and South Carolina State University."

GARVIN in his third full season at the helm earned his second Coach of the Year honor this season. He was also named MEAC Coach of the Year for the first time after leading the Bulldogs to a 12-4 record in conference play. Garvin guided the SC State to a 19-15 overall record, the best regular-season finish since 2005. The Bulldogs advanced to the MEAC Championship game and earned a CIT postseason tournament bid by
EAVES (6-3, 185) also earned All-MEAC Second Team honors. He led the Bulldogs in scoring this season with 17.1 ppg (513 points), while shooting over .517% (167-of-323) from the field. He scored over 20+ points in 12 games or more and tossed in a career-high 35 points in the home-finale against Bethune-Cookman (3/3/16).
For more information on South Carolina State Athletics visit or call the Office of Athletic Media Relations at (803) 536-7060.
District 1:       King Rice, Monmouth                             
District 2:       Roy Williams, North Carolina                 
District 3:       Tony Jasick, Jacksonville                         
District 4:       Mark Schmidt, St. Bonaventure              
District 5:       Jay Wright, Villanova                              
District 6:       Bill Evans, Idaho State                            
District 7:       Tom Crean, Indiana                                                        
District 8:       Tubby Smith, Texas Tech                        
District 9:       Randy Bennett, Saint Mary's                  
District 10:     Kevin Keatts, UNC Wilmington                                    
District 11:     Jerod Haase, UAB                                   
District 12:     Bryce Drew, Valparaiso                           
District 13:     James Jones, Yale                                                           
District 14:     Keith Dambrot, Akron                                                           
District 15:     Murray Garvin, South Carolina State
District 16:     Gregg Marshall, Wichita State
District 17:     Steve Fisher, San Diego State
District 18:     Greg Herenda, Fairleigh Dickinson
District 19:     Dana Ford, Tennessee State
District 20:     Dana Altman, Oregon
District 21:     Billy Kennedy, Texas A&M
District 22:     Matt McCall, Chattanooga
District 23:     Brad Underwood, Stephen F. Austin
District 24:     Chris Beard, Arkansas – Little Rock
District 25:     Fran Dunphy, Temple
District 15
First Team
James Daniel III, Howard
Quinton Chievous, Hampton
Reginald Johnson, Hampton
Jeff Short, Norfolk State
Dominique Elliott, MD-Eastern Shore
Second Team
Eric Eaves, South Carolina State
Devin Martin, MD-Eastern Shore
Sam Hunt, North Carolina A&T
Jordan Potts, Bethune-Cookman
Brian Darden, Hampton
About the National Association of Basketball Coaches
Located in Kansas City, MO, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Phog Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas.  Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game.  The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches.  All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today's student-athletes.  The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education.  Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at

No comments: