Saturday, December 17, 2016

Vaughan, Moses earn All-Louisiana major recognition

NEW ORLEANS — Xavier University of Louisiana picked up two major awards late Tuesday on the 2016 All-Louisiana women's cross country team: Maliya Vaughan was chosen Newcomer of the Year, and Joseph Moses was named Coach of the Year.

A Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel of college sports publicists selected the women's and men's teams.

Vaughan also earned honorable mention, as did teammate Taylor Price. On the men's team, XULA's Christopher August received honorable mention.

Vaughan, a sophomore from Elk Grove, Calif., and a graduate of West Campus High School, had best times of 19 minutes, 17.7 seconds for 5,000 meters and 26:44.9 for 6,000 meters in her first season of collegiate cross country. She was the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference individual runner-up.

Moses, in his 12th season at XULA, won the Louisiana women's coaching award for the sixth time, which extends the state record in this sport. He coached the Gold Nuggets to their 10th consecutive GCAC women's team championship and their sixth automatic bid in nine years to the NAIA National Championships.

Price, a freshman from Missouri City, Texas, and a graduate of Ridge Point High School, was the GCAC individual champion and had best times of 18:07.5 (school record) for 5K and 25:42.23 for 6K. Price tied the GCAC women's season record with six Runner of the Week awards

August, a senior from Spring, Texas, and a graduate of Klein Collins High School, was the GCAC individual men's champion and led XULA to the team title. August was all-conference for the fourth straight year and produced best times of 28:28.80 for 8K and 15:41.6 for 5K. August tied the GCAC men's season record with six Runner of the Week awards.

XULA distance runners will compete next in outdoor track and field. The first meet will be in early March.

2016 All-Louisiana Women's Cross Country Team
Katja Woelfl, junior, McNeese State
Emma Newton, junior, Tulane
Ruby Stauber, freshman, LSU
Clarissa Smith, junior, Southeastern Louisiana
Courtney Musgrove, senior, Louisiana-Lafayette
Allison Smegal, junior, McNeese State
McKenzie Mellius, freshman, Tulane

Runner of the Year: Katja Woelfl, McNeese State
Newcomer of the Year: Maliya Vaughan, XULA
Freshman of the Year: Ruby Stauber, LSU
Coach of the Year: Joseph Moses, XULA

Honorable Mention: Taylor Price, XULA; Erin Wrozek, Northwestern State; Lauren Bartles, Tulane; Kaitlin Fleming, Louisiana-Monroe; Maliya Vaughan, XULA; Inogen Hull, McNeese State; Kacie Kaufman, Louisiana Tech

2016 All-Louisiana Men's Cross Country Team
Emmanuel Rotich, sophomore, Tulane
Stanley Limoh, freshman, Louisiana-Lafayette
Dajour Braxton, sophomore, LSU
Enrique Soto, senior, McNeese State
Beau Robinson, junior, Louisiana-Lafayette
Nathan Jones, junior, McNeese State
Jacob Daigle, freshman, McNeese State

Runner of the Year: Emmanuel Rotich, Tulane
Newcomer of the Year: no nominees
Freshman of the Year: Stanley Limoh, Louisiana-Lafayette
Coach of the Year: (tie) Lon Badeaux, Louisiana-Lafayette; Eric Peterson, Tulane

Honorable Mention: Matt Rice, Louisiana-Lafayette; Josh Wilkins, Northwestern State; Clayton O'Callaghan, New Orleans; Devyn Keith, Tulane; Anthony Rizzi, Loyola; Christopher August, XULA; Moses Aloiloi, Tulane; Joshua Cheruyot, Tulane; Luke Betts, McNeese

Ed Cassiere, Sports Information Director

No comments: