Saturday, February 13, 2016

Hampton U. Women Win Sixth Straight MEAC Indoor Crown

LANDOVER, Maryland – For the sixth year in a row the Hampton Lady Pirates captured the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Indoor Track and Field Championship winning on Saturday at the Prince George’s Sports & Learning Complex.

The Lady Pirates have either won or shared the MEAC Championship now for 14 of the last 16 years. In 2008, they tied Maryland Eastern Shore for the team title and Delaware State won it in 2002.

Hampton amassed 143.33 points to outdistance Florida A&M who was second with 114 points. North Carolina A&T State was third with 81 points while Bethune-Cookman was fourth with 75.

Ce’aira Brown of Hampton was the Women’s Outstanding Runner as she set meet records winning the 800 meters (2:05.19), the mile run on Saturday (4:51.63) and also the 3000 meters along with the anchor leg of the distance medley relay team.

Zoe Ellis of North Carolina Central and Kiara Howell of Norfolk State shared the Outstanding Field Performer award. Ellis took first in the triple jump and third in the long jump, while Howell took second in the shot put and the weight throw.

Also setting a MEAC record on Saturday was Morgan Knight of North Carolina A&T State who won the pole vault with a leap of 3.50m (11-5.75) to beat the previous mark of 3.49m by Sasha Smallwood of Bethune-Cookman in 2013.

Maurice Pierce of Hampton was named the MEAC Coach of the Year for the sixth year in a row. “We made a lot of mistakes, but with Ce’aira Brown doing her thing, the rest of the team filled in the blanks,” he said. “ I thought the team did a good job and Ce’aira took it to another level. Every time she ran and broke another record, that got the team more excited. I think this championship right here was a combination of a serious group effort and Ce’aira was the knockout punch.”

Final Results

Women’s Results - TeamPoints
1. Hampton143.33
2. Florida A&M114
3. North Carolina A&T State81
4. Bethune-Cookman75
5. Coppin State58
6. Maryland Eastern Shore55.33
7. Morgan State41
8. Howard30.33
9. Norfolk State23
10. North Carolina Central19
11. Delaware State17
Women’s Co-Outstanding Field Athlete: Zoe Ellis (NCCU); Kiara Howell (NSU)
Women’s Outstanding Runner: Ce’aira Brown (Hampton)
Women’s Outstanding Coach: Maurice Pierce (Hampton)
All-MEAC First Team
Cynthia Chelelgo, Florida A&M (5,000m); Kierston Bond, Coppin State (LJ); Summer Brown, Bethune-Cookman (Pen.); Jailah Mason, Morgan State (HJ); Ce’aira Brown, Hampton (800m, DMR, mile, 3,000m); Kaylor Murray, Hampton (DMR); Tiara Robinson, Hampton (DMR, 4x400); Pollyanna Velasco, Hampton (DMR); Morgan Knight, North Carolina A&T State (PV); Dominique Bynum-Cooper, Howard (SP); Melissa Caddle-Hope, Coppin State (400m); Kayla White, North Carolina A&T State (60mH); India Brown, North Carolina A&T State (60m, 200); Zoe Ellis, North Carolina Central (TJ); Erin Morrison, Hampton (4x400); Kristian Young, Hampton (4x400); Tanisha Greene, Hampton (4x400)
All-MEAC Second Team
Judith Kibii, Florida A&M (5,000m, DMR, mile, 3,000m); Siobhan Ford-Holland, Hampton (LJ); Khemani Roberts, Coppin State (Pen.); Deandra Daniel, Coppin State (HJ); Jennaya Hield, Maryland Eastern Shore (800m); Cynthia Chelelgo, Florida A&M (DMR); Jharna Alston, Florida A&M (DMR); Destiny Johnson, Florida A&M (DMR); Keyoshia Harris, Bethune-Cookman (PV); Kiara Howell, Norfolk State (SP); Tanisha Greene, Hampton (400m); Morgan Knight, North Carolina A&T State (60mH); Tristie Johnson, Bethune-Cookman (60m, 200); Ashley Ivey, Florida A&M (TJ); Alexis Marsh, Coppin State (4x400); Kadeem Curtis, Coppin State (4x400); Melissa Caddle-Hope, Coppin State; Tanaya Yarde, Coppin State (4x400)

All-MEAC Third Team
Kaylor Murray, Hampton (5,000m); Zoe Ellis, North Carolina Central (LJ); Kaitlin Scott, Hampton (Pen.); Quamecha Morrison, Bethune-Cookman (HJ); Rachel Halmon, Maryland Eastern Shore (800m, DMR, 4x400); Alicia Colson, Maryland Eastern Shore (DMR); Lenneisha Gilbert, Maryland Eastern Shore (DMR, 4x400); Jennaya Hield, Maryland Eastern Shore (DMR); Johari Privott-Yeiser, Hampton (PV); Andrea Aaron, Florida A&M (SP); Pollyanna Velasco, Hampton (mile); Michelle Cole, Howard (400m); Shelasia Leitch, Maryland Eastern Shore (60mH); Kayla White, North Carolina A&T State (60m); Yakira Love, North Carolina A&T State (200m); Cynthia Chelelgo, Florida A&M (3,000m); Shauntel Lucius, Maryland Eastern Shore (TJ); Alicia Colson, Maryland Eastern Shore (4x400); Tanaya Yarde, Maryland Eastern Shore; Dypna Umunakwe, Maryland Eastern Shore (4x400)


No comments: