Sunday, February 21, 2016

Texas Southern wins SWAC Indoor Track and Field Championship

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama  – Texas Southern University repeated as Southwestern Athletic Conference Indoor Track and Field champions, winning the 2016 meet with 122 points. Sunday afternoon at the Birmingham Crossplex.

Clyde Duncan from Texas Southern University was presented the 2016 Men's Indoor Coach of the Year award.

Alabama State placed second with 99 points.  Grambling State finished third with 91 points.  Rounding out the final standings were: Jackson State (78), Prairie View (73), Mississippi Valley (46)  Southern (44), Arkansas-Pine Bluff (41), Alcorn State (21) and Alabama A&M (9).

Southern’s Reginald Redding and Alcorn State’s Darryl Jones were the 2016 Co-Men's Most Outstanding Field Performers.  Redding won the men’s shot put and was second in the weight throw, and Jones was second in the triple jump and long jump.  Grambling State’s Hassan Chepkwony was the 2016 Men’s Most Outstanding Field Performer, winning the men’s 1-mile run, 3000m run and 5000m run.

Grambling State’s Samuel Reese claimed the SWAC crown  in the men’s weight throw with a toss of 15.59m (51-01.75 feet). Reginald Redding of Southern was second (15.44m; 50-08.00 feet), and Texas Southern’s Trauvon Martin made a throw of 14.89m (48-10.25 feet) to earn third place.

Jawalyn Brooks repeated as SWAC champion in the men’s pole vault, outdueling Southern’s Desmond Thomas to win the 2016 title. Brooks cleared 4.55m (14-11.00 feet) to earn first place. Thomas, who finished second, also cleared 4.55m, but had more unsuccessful attempts than Brooks during the event. In third place was Alabama State’s Christopher Amisal (4.25m; 13-11.25 feet).

Tevin Kimble of Texas Southern notched a jump of 15.08m (49-05.75 feet) to capture the top spot in the men’s triple jump. Alcorn State’s Darryl Jones (15.02m; 49-03.50 feet) was second, and Jackson State’s Javauny Hyde earned third place with a distance of 14.74m (48-04.50 feet).

Jackson State’s Bentrell McGee broke the SWAC Indoor Championship record in the 60-meter hurdles, as he took home the gold with a time of 7.85 seconds. The previous record was set in 2005 by Jackson State’s Michael Tinsley. Mississippi Valley State’s Shane Martin earned second place (8.02 seconds), and Texas Southern’s Mykele Young Sanders was third with a time of 8.04 seconds.

Alabama State’s Josh Davis won the men’s 60-meter dash with a mark of 6.81 seconds. Coming in second place for the second-straight year was Prairie View's Keon Campbell, running a time of 6.82 seconds. Finishing third was Jackson State’s Bentrell McGee with a time of 6.83 seconds.

Grambling State’s Hassan Chepkwony took the gold medal in the men’s 1-mile run with a time of 4.25.32. Bryont Brown of Alabama State overtook Jackson State’s James Curtis down the stretch to gain second place with a time of 4.25.85, and Curtis was third with a time of 4.25.99.

Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Jerrel Wilson won the men’s 400-meter dash with a time of 47.93 seconds. Grambling State’s Jamael McTear finished second at 48.01 seconds, and UAPB’s Justin Cooper claimed third with a time of 48.18 seconds.

After a third-place finish in 2015, Southern’s John Haynes nabbed first place in the men’s 800-meter run with a time of 1:54.35. Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Malique Smith finished second at 1:54.51, and Texas Southern’s Jalen Wade was third (1:55.26).

Jackson State’s Bentrell McGee notched a time of 21.14 seconds to claim the men’s 200-meter SWAC title. Finishing second was Texas Southern’s Clyde Lee (21.45 seconds) and Mississippi Valley’s Eric Chism finished third at 21.51 seconds.

Grambling State’s Hassan Chepkwony won the 2016 SWAC championship in the 5000m run with a time of 15:43.46. Aaron Albert of Mississippi Valley State was second with a result of 16:07.75, and Syed Hussain of Prairie View finished third (16:14.38).

4x400M RELAY
Arkansas-Pine Bluff set a new SWAC Indoor Championship record, as Jordan Haley, Lamarques Woodard, Jerrel Wilson and Justin Cooper won the event at 3:12.54, breaking the previous high mark of 3:13.26 set by Jackson State in 2005. Finishing second was Grambling State, and Alabama State was third.


No comments: