Thursday, July 28, 2016

Jacksonville Jaguars to honor former Jackson State star

JACKSONVILLE, Florida -- Former All-SWAC and Jackson State wide receiver Jimmy Smith will become the sixth and newest member of the Pride of the Jaguars when he is inducted on December 11, 2016 by the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars. The team’s owner Shad Khan made the announcement.

Prior to being selected in the second round of 1992 the NFL Draft to the Dallas Cowboys, Smith registered 42 receptions for 894 yards and nine touchdowns for JSU. In his final season with Tigers, he hauled in 43 catches for 801 yards and three touchdowns. Smith finished his college career with 110 receptions, 2,073 yards and 16 touchdowns. The two time Super Bowl Champion graduated with a bachelor's degree in business administration and in 2011, he was named to the Jackson State University All-Century team.

Smith is one of just three players to play more than ten seasons for the Jaguars, from 1995-2005, still owns 11 team records 10 years after his retirement in 2006.

A five-time Pro Bowl performer, Smith was a key to the Jaguars’ early success when the team earned four straight playoff appearances from 1996-99 and played in eight postseason games including two AFC Championship games. He was the Jaguars’ leading receiver seven times and was voted to the AFC Pro Bowl team five consecutive years from 1997-2001.

Smith joined the Jaguars as a free agent in 1995, and over the next 11 seasons he produced marks for receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns that still stand today. His 171 games played and 150 games started both rank second in team history, and his 11 seasons played is tied for second along with Josh Scobee and Fred Taylor behind Brad Meester’s 14 seasons. All of that was accomplished despite the fact that Smith did not become a starter until midway through the 1996 season.

Among the Jaguars records Smith still holds are team marks for receptions in a career (862) and season (116); receiving yards in a career (12,287), season (1,636) and game (291); receiving TDs in a career (67) and game (3); consecutive games with a reception (80); highest average yards per reception (14.3); and 100- (46) and 200- (2) yard receiving games.

In addition, Smith still ranks second in team history in all-purpose yards (12,875) and yards from scrimmage (12,286), third for TDs scored (69), and fourth for points scored in a career (418).

The current members of the Pride of the Jaguars are OT Tony Boselli, who was inducted in 2006, former owners Wayne and Delores Weaver (2012), RB Fred Taylor (2012), and QB Mark Brunell (2013).

On the December day of Smith’s induction, the Jaguars are scheduled to host the Minnesota Vikings in a 1 p.m. game at EverBank Field.


No comments: