Saturday, January 23, 2016

FAMU Baseball Picked to Win MEAC Southern Division

NORFOLK, Virginia – The Norfolk State Spartans and Florida A&M Rattlers were predicted to win the 2016 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) baseball northern and southern divisions, respectively, the conference announced today. All preseason honors were voted on by the conference’s head baseball coaches and sports information directors.

Savannah State’s Charles Sikes was selected as the conference’s Preseason Player of the Year, while Matt Outman of Norfolk State earned Preseason Pitcher of the Year accolades.

Sikes, the 2015 MEAC Player of the Year, led the conference in doubles (16). Also, he finished second in total bases (94), tied for second in home runs (7) and third in RBIs (37). Nationally, Sikes ranked 55th with five sacrifice flies. This is his second consecutive Preseason Player of the Year honor.

Outman earned Pitcher of the Year honors last season after appearing in 12 games and registering eight wins, including one shutout, in 68.1 innings pitched. He ranked first in the MEAC in wins (8) and strikeouts (78), second in strikeouts per nine innings (10.27), and third in ERA (2.77). Outman ranked 18th nationally in wins, 45th in strikeouts and 48th in strikeouts per nine innings.

Norfolk State was the 2015 MEAC northern division champions. The Spartans finished the season with a 27-16 overall record and 19-5 MEAC mark.

Delaware State was picked to finish second, followed by Maryland Eastern Shore and Coppin State to round out the northern division.

Defending MEAC Baseball Tournament Champion, the Florida A&M Rattlers, posted a 23-25 record and a 15-9 MEAC mark last season to secure the southern divisional title.

Bethune-Cookman was chosen second, followed by Savannah State, North Carolina Central and North Carolina A&T State.

Sikes (SSU) and Outman (NSU) are joined by Devin Sweet (NCCU), Clint Clymer (B-CU), Adan Ordonez (NCAT), Mike Escanilla (UMES), Cameron Onderko (DSU), Demetrius Sims (B-CU), Marlon Gibbs (FAMU), Carlos Ortiz (NCCU), Nathan Bond (B-CU), Darien Percell (CSU) and Brian Davis (FAMU) on the 2016 Preseason All-MEAC team.

The 2016 MEAC Baseball Championship tournament is scheduled for May 19-22, 2016 at Purdue Stadium in Salisbury, Md.

Listed below is the 2016 MEAC Preseason Predicted Order of Finish and Preseason All-MEAC teams.

2016 MEAC Baseball Predicted Order of Finish (First Place Votes in Parenthesis)

Southern Division Points

Florida A&M (14) 86

Bethune-Cookman (3) 70

Savannah State 46

North Carolina Central (1) 45

North Carolina A&T 23

Northern Division Points

Norfolk State (14) 68

Delaware State (2) 48

Maryland Eastern Shore 38

Coppin State (2) 26

2016 Preseason All-MEAC Teams

Preseason Player of the Year: Charles Sikes, Savannah State

Preseason Pitcher of the Year: Matt Outman, Norfolk State

First Team

SP Devin Sweet North Carolina Central

SP Matt Outman Norfolk State

RF Clint Clymer Bethune-Cookman

C Adan Ordonez North Carolina A&T

1B Charles Sikes Savannah State

2B Mike Escanilla Maryland Eastern Shore

3B Cameron Onderko Delaware State

SS Demetrius Sims Bethune-Cookman

OF Marlon Gibbs Florida A&M

OF Carlos Ortiz North Carolina Central

OF Nathan Bond Bethune-Cookman

UTL Brian Davis Florida A&M

UTL Darien Percell Coppin State

Second Team

SP Alex Seibold Bethune-Cookman

SP Alex Dandridge North Carolina Central

RP Brandon Fleming Florida A&M

C Ismael Herrera Norfolk State

1B Christian Triplett North Carolina Central

2B Tim Ravare North Carolina A&T

3B Jameel Edney Bethune-Cookman

SS Roger Hall Norfolk State

OF Denathan Dukes Norfolk State

OF Mendez Elder Savannah State

*OF Angel Rosario Norfolk State

*OF Myles Sowell North Carolina A&T

* Denotes tie

The Rattlers open the 2016 season on Friday, February 19 against Marshall for a three-game series at Moore-Kittles Field.


No comments: